Johnny Griffin - Big Soul

  • Singer: Johnny Griffin
  • Title: Big Soul
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Label: Milestone Records ‎– M-47014
    Type: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation
    Country: France
    Date of released: 1973
    Category: Jazz
    Style: Hard Bop, Soul-Jazz, Big Band
  • Size RAR MP3: 1259 mb
  • Size RAR FLAC: 1724 mb
  • Rating: 3.6/5
  • Votes: 373
Johnny Griffin - Big Soul

Download free Links

Johnny Griffin - Big Soul
MP3 version

1259 downloads at 19 mb/s

Johnny Griffin - Big Soul
FLAC version

1724 downloads at 22 mb/s


A1 Wade In The Water 3:44
A2 Panic Room Blues 4:33
A3 Nobody Knows The Trouble I've Seen 2:40
A4 Meditation 8:14
B1 Holla 3:35
B2 So Tired 6:34
B3 Deep River 5:24
B4 Jubilation 3:53
C1 Gloomy Sunday 4:04
C2 That Ole Devil Called Love 3:47
C3 White Gardenia 3:18
C4 God Bless The Child 3:17
C5 Detour Ahead 4:28
D1 Good Morning, Heartache 4:10
D2 Don't Explain 4:43
D3 Travelin' Light 4:06
D4 No More 3:57
D5 Left Alone 2:54

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed By – Musidisc-Europe


  • Alto Saxophone – Frank Strozier (tracks: A3, A4 to B2, B4), Pat Patrick (tracks: A1, A2, B3)
  • Arranged By – Melba Liston (tracks: C1 to C3, D2, D4, D5), Norman Simmons (tracks: A1 to B4, C4, C5, D1, D3)
  • Baritone Saxophone – Charles Davis (tracks: A1, A2, B3)
  • Bass – Bob Cranshaw (tracks: A1, A2, B3), Ron Carter (tracks: C1, D2, D4), Vic Sproles* (tracks: A3, A4, B1, B2, B4)
  • Cello – Abe Kessler (tracks: C3, C4, D1 to D3, D5), Charles McCracken (tracks: C1, C3, C4, D2 to D5), Edgardo Sodero (tracks: C2, C5, D3), Lucien Schmit (tracks: C1 to D5), Maurice Bialkin (tracks: C2, C5, D3), Peter Makas (tracks: C3, C4, D1 to D3, D5), Ray Schweitzer (tracks: C2, C5, D3)
  • Drums – Ben Riley (tracks: C1, D2, D4), Charlie Persip (tracks: A1, A2, B3)
  • Engineer – Ray Fowler (tracks: C1, D2, D4)
  • Flugelhorn – Clark Terry (tracks: C1, D2, D4)
  • French Horn – Ray Alonge (tracks: C1, D2, D4)
  • Guitar – Barry Galbraith (tracks: C1, D2, D4)
  • Piano – Barry Harris (tracks: C2, C5, D3), Bobby Timmons (tracks: A3, A4, B1, B2, B4), Harold Mabern (tracks: A1, A2, B3), Jimmy Jones (tracks: C3, C4, D1 to D3, D5)
  • Producer – Orrin Keepnews (tracks: C1, D2, D4)
  • Tenor Saxophone – Edwin Williams (tracks: A1, A2, B3)
  • Trombone – Jimmy Cleveland (tracks: C1, D2, D4), Julian Priester (tracks: A1, A2, B3), Matthew Gee (tracks: A1, A2, B3), Paul Faulise (tracks: C1, D2, D4), Urbie Green (tracks: C1, D2, D4)
  • Trumpet – Bobby Bryant (tracks: A1, A2, B3), Clark Terry (tracks: A1, A2, B3, C2, C5, D3), Ernie Royal (tracks: C2, C5, D3), Nat Adderley (tracks: C2, C5, D3)
  • Viola – Alfred Brown (tracks: C1, D2, D4), David Schwartz (tracks: C1, D2, D4), Harry Lookofsky (tracks: C1, D2, D4)


Comes in a gatefold sleeve.

Recorded at Plaza Sound Studios, New York City.

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
M-47014 Johnny Griffin Big Soul ‎(2xLP, Comp) Milestone Records M-47014 US 1973
MSP-47014 Johnny Griffin Big Soul ‎(2xLP, Comp) Milestone Records MSP-47014 US 1973
HB 6079 Johnny Griffin Big Soul ‎(2xLP, Comp) Milestone Records HB 6079 Italy 1981

Related music albums: